Posted in International Politics

United Nations

United Nations

1. The United Nations organization was established on – 24 October 1945.

2. The name United Nations, coined by United States President Franklin D. Roosevelt was first used in the Declaration by – United Nations of 1 January 1942.

3. The United Nation is currently made up of – 193 Member States.

4. The current Secretary of United Nations – Ban Ki-moon.

5. The United Nation day is observed on – October 24.

6. The first U.N. Secretary General – Trygve Lie.

7. The headquarters of the United Nations is in – Manhattan, New York City.

8. The United Nations main offices are situated in – Geneva, Nairobi and Vienna.

9. The number of official languages of the United Nations – 6 (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish).

10. The UN has six principal organs – General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, Secretariat, International Court of Justice, Trusteeship Council

11. The General Assembly is the main – deliberative, policymaking and representative organ of the UN.

12. The Security Council has primary responsibility – under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security.

13. The Security Council has – 15 Members (5 permanent and 10 non-permanent members).

14. The background of the flag of United Nation is – light blue is color with a white colored map of the world within a wreath of olive leaves on it.

15. The United Nations Economic and Social Council has – 54 members.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s